Reverse lens macro photography…?

I have been doing a lot of research on this reverse lens macro photography lately. I am very interested because I have seen the beautiful photos some people have created with this concept.

Now to jump back for a second. I remember seeing these amazing snowflake pictures and someone had mentioned this photographer used a pretty basic camera and he had turned his lens around. I was younger and had no clue what all of this meant all I knew is I wanted to create that!

Now back to the present. I recently was looking into snowflake photography and I had happened to come across this photographers, Alexey Kljatov, work again . I realized that he was just using a Canon A650 IS point-and-shoot (of course with some minor adjustments). The reverse lens he used was a Helios 44M-5 (58mm f/2.0) prime lens. I looked up some of the specs on this camera and found they are 12.1 megapixels, 1/1.7″ optical sensor size, image recording format is JPEG, & Optical Sensor Type is CCD.

Realizing the equipment he used to create these photos has inspired me to start dabbling in this area of photography! I found some very inexpensive ways I can also customize my Canon Rebel T3i. I found a 58mm reverse ring for $4.99, a step up adaptor ring from 58mm to 67mm (so I can also use my other lens) for $3.29, and a macro close-up +10 lens filter for $7.99.

Now, hopefully soon I will be able to start posting some of my own macro photography on this page. I’m not sure how interesting it will be at first but I am very excited for this next spring when the bugs and flowers start to come around again!

Leave a Reply

